Fr 20:00
Von Zeit zu Zeit

Hersch + Ah Young Hong

Ensemble Phoenix Basel

With this concert, the Ensemble Phoenix Basel follows up on two programme focuses of the 21/22 season: On the one hand, they were able to win Michael Hersch, the composer of the successful music theatre production «Poppaea», for a new composition for soprano and ensemble, the solo part of which will be performed by the Korean soprano Ah Young Hong, who has already thrilled audiences with the title role in Hersch's opera. On the other hand, Hersch often refers to music from the Renaissance. The concert programme will be framed by an arrangement of a motet by Guillaume de Machaut. Also from the 14th century are the ballads by Jean Galiot and Jacob de Senleches from the stylistic epoch of the «ars subtilior», arranged by the Argentinian composer Erik Oña, who taught in Basel and died in 2019 after a serious illness. In his composition «After Serra», the American Jason Eckardt refers to the monumental sculptures of Richard Serra, whose «Intersection» has stood on Basel's Theaterplatz since 1992. The programme is complemented by a quiet, spherical work by the Icelandic composer Anna Thorvaldsdottir.


Ah Young Hong (soprano), Lucas Rössner («voice-fry» in «Le Sault Perilleux»), Ensemble Phoenix Basel, Jürg Henneberger (musical direction)


Guillaume de Machaut (1300-1377): «Puis qu’en oubli» for soprano and string quartet (arr. Michael Hersch 2020); Jason Eckardt (*1971): «After Serra» for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano (2000); Anna Thorvaldsdottir (*1977): «Aequilibria» for ensemble (2014); Jean Galiot (14. Jh.) / Erik Oña (1961-2019): «Le Sault Perilleux (Ballade)» (2004); Jacob de Senleches (14. Jh.) / Erik Oña: «Je me merveil» (2004); Michael Hersch (*1971): «one step to the next, worlds ending» nach den Texten von Jan Zwicky (Auftrag EPB, 2022, UA); Guillaume de Machaut: «Puis qu’en oubli» for soprano and string quartet (arr. Hersch 2020)


19:00 concert introduction with Jürg Henneberger


70 minutes, with break


CHF 35.-/25.-/15.- (free choice at the box office or in advance)
Free admission applies to persons with residence permit N, F or S. / CHF 5.- students of the Hochschule für Musik FHNW and the Musicology Seminar of the University of Basel / CHF 10.- members Colourkey and children under 12 years.


New Pricing Policy

With the start of the season 22/23, a new pricing policy will apply at Gare du Nord.
Guests can now choose their own admission price between three different price levels.
CHF 35.- / 25.- / 15.-


Support the local music scene and give the gift of culture. Gift vouchers for Gare du Nord can be ordered in any amount at any time here or by e-mail.

→ E-Mail

Tel. +41 61 683 13 13


To receive the schedule monthly by mail, please email us →E-Mail. For the newsletter you can sign up here.


Persons with a residence permit N, F or S.

Students of the Academy of Music FHNW and of the Seminar of Music of the University Basle will still enjoy an entry fee of CHF 5.-.
Colourkey holders and children under 12 years will pay CHF 10.-

Season tickets

Prices freely selectable CHF 350.- / 250.- / 150.-
The season tickets include almost all events of the season 22/23.

Benefits of a season ticket: You can collect your ticket at the evening door and do not need a reservation. The seats for holders of season tickets will be blocked up to 15 minutes prior to showtime.

Season tickets are available for purchase at the door or can be ordered via →E-Mail

This website is using cookies to provide an optimised user experience. By continuing you are agreeing to the use of cookies.