We 20:00

10 Jahre neuverBand!

Ensemble neuverBand, Mike Svoboda

Bild vom Ensemble neuverBand

© zVg

The neuverBand ensemble celebrates its 10th anniversary!

The neuverBand Ensemble for New Music was founded in spring 2013 in the cafeteria of the Basel Music Academy. The members of the Master of Contemporary Performance Programme felt that together they could offer a new perspective and approach to the performance of new music in Switzerland. Since then, the ensemble has performed around 40 programmes with around 120 works in Switzerland and abroad.

In keeping with our ensemble's commitment to expanding the chamber music repertoire, whose works are relatively unknown to Swiss audiences, this programme includes a world premiere by New York-based composer Alec Hall. Through the use of field recordings and objets trouvés sonores, Hall creates dense networks of sound that are, at their core, critiques of contemporary Western politics and economics.

One of the most important activities of our ensemble is the composition competition «Construct-Radiate». For each edition we received about 400 applications from composers, which enabled us to get in touch with remarkable emerging composers from all over the world. To be heard will be two works by previous winners, Yu Kuwabara and Michele Sanna (winners in 2018 and 2016 respectively).

Due to the pandemic, Leonardo Idrobo's piece «s n er a de», composed for neuverBand, has never been performed in front of a live audience. The work is a majestic sound portrait of the composer's memories of musical evenings at home, organised on days of personal significance as offerings to loved ones.

Lastly, the Basel premiere of Donnacha Dennehy's powerful industrial/minimalist «Glamour Sleeper».


Anja Clift (flute), Valentina Štrucelj (clarinet), Alicja Pilarczyk (violin), Nora Vetter (viola), Karolina Öhman (violoncello), Lukas Rickli (piano), Dino Georgeton (piano), Estelle Costanzo (harp), Nejc Grm (accordion), Mike Svoboda (conductor)


Alec Hall (1985): New piece (2022-23) for bass clarinet, percussion, piano, accordion, violin, viola, cello and electronics; Leonardo Idrobo (1977): «s n er a de» (2019) for flute, bass clarinet, percussion, accordion, harp, violin, viola, cello and electronics; Yu Kuwabara (1984): «incense, efflorescence» (2018) for flute, clarinet, percussion, piano, accordion, harp, violin, viola and cello; Michele Sanna (1981): «Muzak» (2016) for flute, clarinet, percussion, piano, accordion, harp, violin, viola and cello; Donnacha Dennehy (1970): «Glamour Sleeper» (2002) for clarinet, percussion, piano, violin and electronics


90 minutes, with break


CHF 35.-/25.-/15.- (free choice at the box office or in advance)
Free admission applies to persons with residence permit N, F or S. / CHF 5.- students of the Hochschule für Musik FHNW and the Musicology Seminar of the University of Basel / CHF 10.- members Colourkey and children under 12 years.


New Pricing Policy

With the start of the season 22/23, a new pricing policy will apply at Gare du Nord.
Guests can now choose their own admission price between three different price levels.
CHF 35.- / 25.- / 15.-


Support the local music scene and give the gift of culture. Gift vouchers for Gare du Nord can be ordered in any amount at any time here or by e-mail.

→ E-Mail

Tel. +41 61 683 13 13


To receive the schedule monthly by mail, please email us →E-Mail. For the newsletter you can sign up here.


Persons with a residence permit N, F or S.

Students of the Academy of Music FHNW and of the Seminar of Music of the University Basle will still enjoy an entry fee of CHF 5.-.
Colourkey holders and children under 12 years will pay CHF 10.-

Season tickets

Prices freely selectable CHF 350.- / 250.- / 150.-
The season tickets include almost all events of the season 22/23.

Benefits of a season ticket: You can collect your ticket at the evening door and do not need a reservation. The seats for holders of season tickets will be blocked up to 15 minutes prior to showtime.

Season tickets are available for purchase at the door or can be ordered via →E-Mail

This website is using cookies to provide an optimised user experience. By continuing you are agreeing to the use of cookies.