We 20:00

2x Klavier + drums

Basel Infinity Festival

Foto: Ein Portraitfoto des Schlagzeugers Matthias Würsch

Matthias Würsch © Basel Sinfonietta

Brahms' Quintet in F minor for piano and string quartet is one of the most famous and popular chamber music works. It is rarely performed in its original form: as a sonata for two pianos. In this duo version, the brilliant piece shows its intimate side and captivates with an unheard-of dialogue dynamic. Bartok's Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion takes up this dynamic in the second part of the concert and continues it with the experimental energy of the 20th century. Matthias Würsch, an outstanding performer and professor at the HSM Basel, will be on drums. The Belarusian rising star Denis Linnik takes over the first piano part. His great solo recitals in Switzerland and performances with the Basel Symphony Orchestra have attracted great attention.


Denis Linnik (piano), Lukas Loss (piano), Matthias Würsch (drums), N.A. (drums)


Johannes Brahms (1833-1897): Sonata for two pianos op. 34b; Bela Bartok (1881-1945): Sonata for two pianos and percussion


Advance booking → www.baselfestival.ch


90 minutes, no break

This website is using cookies to provide an optimised user experience. By continuing you are agreeing to the use of cookies.